Weirdo Aliens.

Holographic Universe or Computer Simulation? Big Bang or God?

Moderators: ryguy, chrLz, Zep Tepi

Weirdo Aliens.

Postby mojo » Mon Sep 01, 2008 3:28 pm

I wasn't sure where to post this thread, please move it if it isn't in the appropriate place, thanks.

I'm no expert in biology or chemistry but some articles i found a while ago have fascinated me ever since, so i thought i'd share them with you all as well.
I do happen to think that there is "other" life in the universe oither than what is found here, i don't however think that they are "grey's, nordic's or reptilians".
I think most if not all life that we may stumble across in the future will in fact probably have even less resemblance to us than those.

Weirdo aliens.

Why do we presume that alien life will necessarily be similar in its needs/shapes or thoughts to ourselves or other of earth's animals/organisms.
I remember reading an excellent short story about humans landing on Pluto and tromping around the place and generally making a nuisance of themselves. It is only much later that they discover that these pretty little snowflake type things lying all over the planet that they were stomping through were actually lifeforms that they destroyed.
You can just see us doing something like this can't you.
We know so little about ourselves and our own enviroment that it amazes me that we could even begin to think what life on other planets may be like.

Anyway here's the article.

Alien Life May Be "Weirder" Than Scientists Think, Report Says

Instead of thriving on water, extraterrestrial organisms might live in a sea of liquid methane. Or instead of getting energy from the sun, they might thrive on hydrochloric acid. snip........
The report concludes that scientists need to consider an expanded list of characteristics that define life, including so-called "weird" life-forms that may thrive where Earth organisms couldn't.

Page 2