Nab the n00b

Tell a little about yourself here

Moderators: ryguy, Zep Tepi

Nab the n00b

Postby nablator » Fri Jan 28, 2011 7:20 pm

Hello,

I'm new to the forum so I should introduce myself properly. Problem is, I'm a nobody and my curriculum is so amazingly dull that you would fall asleep reading it.

In short I'm a french software engineer, a former civil engineer, living near Paris. I learned English by reading a huge amount of american and british science-fiction & fantasy novels twenty years ago. I have also been reading UFO literature since the 80s, but had several very long lapses in interest. The few UFOs I have seen were never too weird to rationalize, which may explain why I am not as obsessed with UFOs as some people I met on forums - my crazy friend Buckwild for example.

I always thought that UFOs are worth investigating, a fascinating subject to study and many things to learn, philosophical, physical, psychological and sociological. More seriously investigating cases since 2006 and joining forums led me to the skeptical point of view that a very large trash can is needed. I am no longer convinced that we are being visited by interdimensional or extra-ultra-meta-intra-cryptoterrestrial beings. Now I'm trying to get real 100% of the time, and failing. It's tempting to abandon the search for truth and settle for a good fantasy. :?

I had the pleasure to meet many of you on ATS. On forums I am a self proclaimed digital photo analysis expert. Just pretending, actually, but I do know a few technical tricks that very few people fully understand, such as: how to create convincing altered original camera JPEGs for instance, and how to detect fakes – no hoaxer has done them right yet.

I try to help my good friends (Gilles F. is one) on the sceptic-ovni french-speaking forum armchair-investigating cases. I am certainly not a ufologist. God forbid. :mrgreen:
Last edited by nablator on Tue Feb 01, 2011 11:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
nablator